Questions and Answers

Pricing

What is the refund policy of UpVPN?

If, for any reason, you are unhappy with UpVPN, please reach out to [email protected]. We will be happy to assist and create the best possible experience.


You may request a refund within the first 30 days of your first purchase. Plan upgrades and second-time onward purchases do not qualify for a refund.


Before requesting a refund, please disconnect upvpn VPN on all of your devices.


Refund on purchases made using a card may take up to 5-10 business days after issuing the refund.

Can I use a previous purchase towards a plan upgrade?

When you upgrade to a higher plan, we offer you to use previous purchase towards the upgrade by issuing an applicable refund. However, once the plan is upgraded, it is no longer eligible for a refund.

Pay as you go to Yearly plan: after your upgrade, we issue a refund of the available account balance at the time of your upgrade.

Please allow up to 7 business days to process refunds for plan upgrades.


Are there minimum charges for a VPN session?

Only applicable for Pay as you go plan

Yes. All minimum charges are listed below:

  • base charge: 5 cents.

  • hourly charge: You are charged for 1 hr minimum, and then in increments of 1 hr.

    For instance, if your VPN session lasts 1 hour and 25 minutes, you will be charged for 2 hours.

  • data charge: No charge for 0 bytes. Otherwise, you are charged in increments of 1 cent.

    For instance, at a rate of 4 cents per gigabyte (GB), you will be charged 1 cent for every 250 megabytes (MB) of data. Therefore, if your total uploaded and downloaded data amounts to 650MB, the charge will be 3 cents.

Full example: Say you had a VPN session at pricing $0.02/hr and $0.04/GB for 2 hr 05 mins and you downloaded + uploaded 1.57GB. Then your total charge will be 5 (base) + 2 * 3 (duration) + 7 (data) = $0.18

When are the total charges for a VPN session available?

Only applicable for Pay as you go plan

When you start a VPN session, you are immediately charged a base charge. When you end a VPN session, we accurately calculate charges based on duration and data usage, which should be reflected in your account shortly afterward.

Do you have a Pricing Calculator?

Only applicable for Pay as you go plan

Yes, Pricing Calculator

In which countries is UpVPN available for purchase?
Product

How to pronounce upvpn?

Up VPN

What is a Serverless VPN?

To learn all about Serverless VPN visit What is a Serverless VPN?

How does VPN work? How does VPN hide location via IP?

When you select a location and establish a VPN connection, your internet traffic, including website browsing, is encrypted and routed through a protected tunnel between your device and our cloud server at the chosen location. This makes it appear to websites that you are accessing their content from the cloud server's location, ensuring your true device IP (and device location based on IP) remains hidden.

To learn more visit What is a VPN?

What are "App Devices" and "Web Devices"?

App Devices: When you download, install and sign-in to UpVPN app. Your devices where app is installed are "App Devices".

Web Devices: If you do not wish to use the UpVPN app, you use any WireGuard compatible client app, you can manage their VPN session on dashboard under "Web Devices".

Web Device feature is a fully managed WireGuard as a Service - you get a VPN server without the hassles of managing servers or VPN configurations.

What is a VPN session?

Selecting a location and connecting to VPN, followed by disconnection after usage, constitutes a single VPN session.

What are Warmand Cold indicators next to a location?

These indicators are visual recommendations about time it will take for a server to be ready for a VPN session in a location.


Warm

Indicates server capacity is available to immediately connect within a few seconds.


Cold

Indicates that a location is fully serverless. On connect a new server will be provisioned, which typically will be ready in 40 to 70 seconds.

How long does it take for a VPN session to be ready?

Our optimization efforts ensure that your VPN session is ready within seconds, delivering a user experience comparable to other established VPN providers.

In cases where server capacity is available (Warm), you can expect consistent quick ready times. However, if spare capacity is unavailable (aka Cold starts in Serverless model of computing), we dynamically provision a new server upon your request, leveraging the cloud provider available for your chosen location. In our experience, this provisioning process typically ranges from 40 to 70 seconds.

Which DNS is used during a VPN session?

App Devices: Configured with DNS=1.1.1.1 upon successful VPN connection. This is not configurable on app yet.

Web Devices: The configuration file or QR code comes with DNS settings set to 1.1.1.1. Nevertheless, you have the freedom to download the configuration and customize it with your preferred DNS settings before using it on any WireGuard-compatible client.

How to use Web Devices?

  • Add a device on Web Devices page and then click the manage button.
  • On selected device's management page you select a location and toggle switch to create VPN session.
  • Once VPN session is ready, you will see option to download WireGuard configuration file or scan QR code. Use this configuration to connect to VPN on any WireGuard compatible client app.
  • After usage you come back to management page and toggle switch to end the VPN session at which point total charges (only for pay as you go plan) for this VPN session will be calculated.

Please note these configurations or QR code cannot be reused after ending VPN session.

How do I verify the authenticity & integrity of app installer?

We do OS specific code signing of our installers.

Additionally, we digitally sign installers using GPG (GNU Privacy Guard). This guarantees that the installer is from us and has not been tampered with.

You can independenlty verify signatures using our code signing GPG public key available here.

The digital signature .asc files of app installer are available on our Github Releases page.

How do I manage my data?

How do you ensure privacy of a VPN session?

Your Privacy Matters to Us - We prioritize your privacy by ensuring that we never log or track your network traffic on our cloud servers. Additionally, when you end your VPN session, we promptly delete the record from our database that links your session to the specific cloud server.

In addition you can fully manage your data on the dashboard - learn more.
For more details, please see Privacy Policy

How do I delete my account?

Once you delete account, there is no going back. Please be certain.


Visit Account tab on the dashboard.

I have more questions, where do I ask them?

Please email us at [email protected] with your questions, and we will be happy to assist.